The best invoicing software for support workers Australia-wide in 2026 is InvoiceSonic, because a support worker's week is never one invoice — it is one invoice per participant, each carrying an NDIS number, a support item number, service dates and hours. If you need a single compliant PDF today, the free sole trader invoice generator on this site builds one in the browser with no signup. If you want tax handled alongside the invoicing, an Australian app such as Rounded does more for a yearly fee. We put all eight through the shift-to-invoice test.
In a hurry? Best overall: InvoiceSonic invoicing app. Best free: the sole trader invoice generator on this site.
Quick comparison
| Tool | Free plan | Recurring invoices | Auto reminders | Sends invoices | AU GST / ABN | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| InvoiceSonic | Yes (capped) | Yes (Pro) | Yes | Yes | Yes | One invoice per participant, sent and chased |
| Invoice-Generator.com.au | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | A free ATO-shaped PDF, now |
| Zoho Invoice | Yes (free) | Not listed | Not listed | Yes | Yes | Sending and a client list for nothing |
| Square Invoices | Yes | Not listed | Yes | Yes | Yes | Self-managed participants paying by card |
| Xero | No | Not listed | Not listed | Yes | Yes | When your bookkeeper uses it |
| Rounded | No | Not listed | Not listed | Yes | Yes | Invoicing plus a tax estimate |
| Bookipi | Yes (3/mo) | Yes (free) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Repeating shifts on a tiny budget |
| Wave | Yes (free) | Not listed | Not listed | Yes | Generic | Free invoicing with basic books |
"Not listed" means exactly that: the tool's own Australian pricing or feature page did not state the feature at the time of writing, so we have not marked it a yes. Confirm it on a trial.
How we tested: the shift-to-invoice test. Can the tool turn a week of shifts at different rate bands — weekday daytime, evening, Saturday, public holiday — into one invoice per participant that a plan manager will pay without querying it? Three checks: a saved record per participant, so the week splits properly; repeating last week without rebuilding the lines; and an invoice with no GST line that still carries your ABN.
The worked number. A real week: 38 hours across three participants, split across four rate bands. That is not one invoice with 38 hours on it. It is three invoices, with up to four line groups inside each, because a plan manager reconciles every line against a support item number and a date. Bill weekly and that is 156 invoices a year. At 12 minutes each of Support Catalogue lookups and retyping, that is 31.2 hours a year of unpaid admin. A tool that saves the participant and the line items takes it to about 5 minutes, or 13 hours — a difference of 18.2 hours a year.
What a plan manager checks before paying. An NDIS invoice needs the participant's name and NDIS number, the support item number from the NDIS Price Guide or Support Catalogue, the service dates, the hours, and your ABN. Miss the support item number and it comes back. Miss the ABN and the payer may be required to withhold 47%. If you are registered for GST, the ATO also expects the words "Tax invoice", your identity and the date — see our guide to tax invoice requirements.
Plan-managed, self-managed and NDIA-managed are three different billing jobs. Plan-managed means your invoice goes to a plan manager who pays it from the participant's plan — the most common arrangement for independent support workers, and the reason it has to be readable by a stranger. Self-managed means the participant pays you directly and claims it back. NDIA-managed budgets are claimed through the myplace provider portal using PRODA, which registered providers use.
GST on NDIS supports. Most NDIS supports are GST-free where they are a reasonable and necessary support in a participant's plan, so an NDIS invoice often shows no GST even when the provider is registered for GST. An app that forces 10% onto every line is working against you. It depends on your own circumstances, so confirm the treatment with the ATO or your accountant, and read the GST registration threshold first.
Who fails the test. Only two of the eight publish recurring invoicing: InvoiceSonic on Pro, and Bookipi on every plan including free. A free PDF generator fails two checks outright — no saved participant records, no sending. The rest send and keep a client list, but none stated an automatic recurring send.
1. InvoiceSonic — Best overall
InvoiceSonic builds a clean tax invoice in about a minute, keeps a saved record for each participant, and on Pro sends it on a schedule and chases it if nobody pays. For a support worker billing the same three or four people weekly, that is the whole job.
It is the only tool here with a dedicated NDIS invoice template, alongside sole trader and ABN templates, so the fields you need are on the page rather than crammed into a notes box. Australian handling is built in: ABN field, BSB format, and a 10% GST label you can leave off when the support is GST-free. Invoice open tracking shows when a plan manager reads it. Payment is by bank transfer or PayID, with no gateway and no InvoiceSonic transaction fee. There is an iPhone app but no native Android app.
Pros
- Recurring invoices and reminders on Pro, so a repeating roster bills and chases itself.
- A dedicated NDIS invoice template, plus sole trader and ABN templates.
- Annual Pro is price-locked: the rate never rises while the subscription is active.
Cons
- No timesheets, rostering or staff management, so the hours come off your own log.
- The free plan is capped at 3 saved invoices, 1 tracked send and 1 reminder a month, and the 7-day Pro trial asks for a card.
Price: at the time of writing, the free plan is A$0 and the first invoice needs no sign-up or card; Pro is A$19 a month, or A$168 a year billed annually — A$14 a month, saving A$60. Best for: support workers billing a repeating roster of plan-managed participants.
2. Invoice-Generator.com.au — Best free tool
Invoice-Generator.com.au is a free tax invoice generator that builds a finished PDF in your browser with no signup, no watermark and no invoice limit. It is the right tool when a plan manager wants an invoice today and you are not about to subscribe to anything.
The sole trader invoice generator has an ABN field, a 10% GST line you can leave at zero for GST-free supports, and a compliance checklist that flags a missing ABN before you send. Nothing you type leaves the browser, which matters when the document carries a participant's name and NDIS number. There is a free GST calculator too, and a walkthrough of how to invoice as a sole trader. It fails the shift-to-invoice test outright: it builds the document and nothing else.
Pros
- Free forever, no signup, no watermark, no limit, and the data never leaves your browser.
- The checklist catches a missing ABN before a plan manager does.
Cons
- No sending, tracking or reminders, so 156 invoices a year means 156 rebuilds.
- No saved participant list, so every detail is re-entered each week.
Price: free, always. Best for: new support workers with one or two participants, and anyone who needs a compliant invoice now.
3. Zoho Invoice — Best free app that actually sends
Zoho Invoice is free — Zoho states no cost and no contracts — and unlike a PDF generator it sends the invoice, saves the participant as a client and keeps the history.
It half-passes. Separate client records mean the week splits into one invoice per participant, and the Australian edition handles GST and ABN correctly, so a GST-free support does not pick up a forced 10% line. A recurring send is not stated, so check it on a trial.
Pros
- Genuinely free with no contract, and it saves participants as clients.
- Invoicing in 19-plus languages, for families who prefer another language.
Cons
- Dense interface, and it is the front door to a large upsell suite.
- Support is aimed at paid-suite customers, and recurring invoicing is not listed.
Price: free at the time of writing. Best for: support workers who want sending, tracking and a saved participant list for A$0.
4. Square Invoices — Best if a self-managed participant pays by card
Square Invoices gives you unlimited free invoices, estimates and automatic reminders, and the payer taps a card link in the email. For a self-managed participant who would rather pay on the spot, that saves a conversation.
It half-passes: automatic reminders are free, but a recurring send is not stated, and estimate auto-convert and milestone schedules sit behind Plus. The real cost is the card fee. At 2.2% on online card payments, A$60,000 of invoices paid by card costs A$1,320 a year, out of shift income. Plan managers pay by bank transfer, so the fee bites only on self-managed participants — put your BSB and PayID at the top and treat the card as the fallback.
Pros
- Unlimited free invoices with automatic reminders on the free plan.
- A participant can pay from the invoice in seconds, so money often lands the same day.
Cons
- 2.2% on online card payments is A$1,320 a year on A$60,000 of billings.
- No recurring send listed, and milestone schedules are Plus only.
Price: at the time of writing, free, or Plus at AUD $30 per month; 2.2% on online card payments. Best for: support workers with self-managed participants who want to pay by card.
5. Xero — Best if your bookkeeper already uses it
Xero is accounting software with an invoicing module inside it, not an invoicing app, and that decides whether it suits you. It is the right answer when a bookkeeper already works in it and wants invoices, bank feeds, GST and BAS in one system.
It sends properly and handles Australian GST and ABN correctly, including invoices with no GST on them, which matters when most of your supports are GST-free. For one person billing three participants a week it is more software than the job needs.
Pros
- Invoicing, bank reconciliation, GST and BAS in one system your accountant knows.
- Handles GST-free line items cleanly, so a mixed private and NDIS week reconciles at BAS time.
Cons
- No free plan, and no recurring-invoice claim we could verify on the AU pricing page.
- Overkill for a solo support worker: a general ledger to send four invoices a week.
Price: paid plans available — check current pricing. Best for: support workers with a bookkeeper or enough turnover that the books matter more than the invoices.
6. Rounded — Best for invoicing plus a running tax estimate
Rounded is Australian-built for sole traders and freelancers, and does invoicing, expenses and tax estimates in one place. Independent support workers are almost always sole traders with no tax withheld from their income, so the estimate is the feature that earns the subscription.
It sends invoices, saves clients and handles Australian tax properly. Recurring invoicing is not stated on the pricing page, so on our test it is unconfirmed rather than a fail. Note the price: Solo is $99 a year regular AUD at the time of writing, cheaper than InvoiceSonic Pro billed annually, and it tracks expenses and an estimated tax bill as well — a real reason to pick it over our number one.
Pros
- Built in Australia for sole traders, so the tax estimates are shaped for the ATO.
- Solo is $99 a year regular AUD at the time of writing, cheaper than most paid apps here.
Cons
- No free plan, so there is no way to run a month on it for nothing.
- Recurring invoicing is not listed, and promotional pricing varies, so check year two.
Price: at the time of writing, Solo $99 per year regular and Pro $70 per month regular in AUD; promotional pricing varies. Best for: support workers who want invoicing, expenses and a tax estimate from one Australian app.
7. Bookipi — Best budget app with recurring invoices
Bookipi is a simple invoice app that syncs between web and mobile, and the only tool here besides InvoiceSonic that lists recurring invoices and overdue reminders on every plan, including free. On paper it passes all three checks.
The catch is volume. The free plan stops at 3 invoices a month and a support worker billing three participants weekly needs 12 or 13, so the honest read is that Bookipi passes on Starter, not on free. It is a general invoice app rather than an NDIS one, so the participant name, NDIS number and support item number go into your line descriptions.
Pros
- Recurring invoices and overdue reminders even on the free plan.
- Web and mobile stay in sync, so an invoice started in the car finishes at home.
Cons
- 3 free invoices a month is far too few for a weekly roster of three participants.
- Priced in USD, so what you pay moves with the AUD.
Price: at the time of writing, free for 3 invoices a month; Starter US$9.99 per month; Professional US$52 per month. Best for: part-time support workers with one or two participants.
8. Wave — Best free invoicing with basic books attached
Wave is free in Australia at the time of writing, and it gives you invoicing plus simple accounting.
It is last for a specific reason. Its GST handling is generic rather than ATO-shaped, and an NDIS invoice lives or dies on the tax treatment — a GST-free support invoiced with a 10% line is a correction and a resubmission. It sends and saves clients, so it clears the first check; the third is where it wobbles.
Pros
- Free in Australia at the time of writing, with basic bookkeeping attached.
- Saves clients and sends invoices, so a week splits into one invoice per participant.
Cons
- GST handling is generic rather than ATO-shaped, which is the wrong weakness for NDIS work.
- Australian support is thin, and payments and payroll are built for the US and Canada.
Price: free in Australia at the time of writing. Best for: support workers who want free invoicing and will check the tax treatment themselves.
What to look for in invoicing software for support workers
Support-work billing is many small invoices to the same participants every week, each read by a plan manager who will bounce anything that does not reconcile. Repeatability and correct detail beat features.
- A saved record per participant, not one big client. The week has to split into one invoice per participant. Treat "the NDIS" as a single customer and you produce an invoice nobody can pay.
- Reusable line items — test this on the trial. Recurring invoicing is what tools publish; a saved products-and-services list is what removes the retyping of support item numbers and rate bands. Build one week, then time week two.
- Somewhere obvious for the NDIS detail. Participant name and NDIS number, support item number, service dates and hours. Crammed into one free-text line, they get read last.
- GST you can switch off per line. Most NDIS supports are GST-free where they are a reasonable and necessary support in a plan, so an app insisting on 10% is fighting you. Our guide for NDIS providers has more.
- Your ABN on every invoice. Without it the payer may be required to withhold 47%, and a plan manager will not quietly pay it anyway.
- The payment method and its cost. Bank transfer and PayID cost nothing and clear overnight; a card link at 2.2% takes A$1,320 out of A$60,000.
Which one should you choose?
Run it at 156 invoices a year, which is three participants billed weekly. At the time of writing that costs A$0 with the free generator, Zoho Invoice or Wave; A$168 a year with InvoiceSonic Pro billed annually; US$9.99 a month with Bookipi Starter; $99 a year with Rounded Solo; and up to A$1,320 in card fees with Square on A$60,000 of card-paid billings. The cheapest subscription is not the cheapest outcome, and 31.2 hours of retyping is not free either.
- If you have one or two participants → the free sole trader invoice generator, emailed to the plan manager.
- If you bill a repeating weekly roster of plan-managed participants → InvoiceSonic on Pro, using the NDIS template.
- If you want sending and a participant list for nothing → Zoho Invoice, and accept the dense interface.
- If tax is what keeps you awake → Rounded, for the running estimate as much as the invoicing.
- If a self-managed participant will only pay by card → Square Invoices, with the 2.2% priced in.
When not to use InvoiceSonic or a free generator. Neither is accounting software: once you have a quarterly BAS, a bookkeeper or a second worker on the books, Xero or MYOB is the right tool. Neither does timesheets or shift rostering — if the hours are the mess, a rostering or care-management system is what is missing, not a better invoice app. If you have never set money aside for tax, Rounded is Australian-built for sole traders and Solo is $99 a year regular AUD at the time of writing, cheaper than InvoiceSonic Pro billed annually. And a free PDF generator, ours included, is the wrong choice the moment the same invoice goes out weekly to the same three people.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best invoicing software for support workers in Australia?
InvoiceSonic. It keeps a saved record for each participant, sends the invoice, chases it automatically, and has a dedicated NDIS invoice template. Bookipi is the only other tool here that lists recurring invoices on a free plan, and that plan stops at 3 invoices a month.
What has to be on an NDIS invoice from an independent support worker?
The participant's name and NDIS number, the support item number from the NDIS Price Guide or Support Catalogue, the service dates, the hours worked, and your ABN. Where you are registered for GST the ATO also expects the words Tax invoice, your identity, the date and the GST amount.
Do support workers charge GST on NDIS invoices?
Usually not. Most NDIS supports are GST-free where they are a reasonable and necessary support in a participant's plan, so an NDIS invoice often shows no GST even when the provider is registered. Confirm the treatment for your own circumstances with the ATO or your accountant.
Can I invoice a plan-managed participant without being a registered NDIS provider?
Plan-managed and self-managed participants can generally engage unregistered providers, so you invoice the plan manager or the participant directly. NDIA-managed budgets are claimed through the myplace provider portal using PRODA, which registered providers use. Check your own situation with the NDIS.
Is there a free invoicing tool for support workers?
Yes. Invoice-Generator.com.au is free with no signup, no watermark and no invoice limit, and Zoho Invoice and Wave are both free at the time of writing. A free InvoiceSonic account gives 3 saved invoices, 1 tracked email send and 1 automatic reminder a month.
Build your support worker invoice now
Free, no signup, ATO-compliant PDF in under a minute.
Open the sole trader invoice generator