Best tools

Best Invoicing App for Personal Trainers in Australia (2026): 8 Apps Compared

The Invoice-Generator.com.au team 9 September 2026 · 13 min read

The best invoicing app for personal trainers Australia-wide in 2026 is InvoiceSonic, because PT billing is two jobs at once: a session pack invoiced up front and a membership that has to bill itself every month. If you only need one compliant PDF for a client who paid you in cash, the free Australian tax invoice generator on this site builds it in the browser with no signup. If your real problem is knowing who has three sessions left, no invoicing app solves that and you are shopping in the wrong category. We put all eight apps through one test: can it invoice a 10-session pack up front, then a recurring monthly membership, and tell you who has sessions left to run?

In a hurry? Best overall: InvoiceSonic invoicing app. Best free: the Australian tax invoice generator on this site.

Quick comparison

ToolFree planPack up frontRecurring membershipSessions left trackedAU GST / ABNBest for
InvoiceSonicYes (capped)Yes + depositYes (Pro)NoYesPacks and memberships that bill themselves
Invoice-Generator.com.auYesYesNoNoYesA free ATO-compliant PDF, right now
Square InvoicesYesYesNot listedNoYesClients who will only pay by card
Zoho InvoiceYes (free)YesNot listedNoYesFree sending with a saved client list
BookipiYes (3/mo)YesYes (free)NoYesRecurring memberships on a tiny budget
RoundedNoYesNot listedNoYesInvoicing plus a tax estimate
WaveYesYesNot listedNoGenericFree invoicing with basic books
XeroNoYesNot listedNoYesWhen your accountant already uses it

"Not listed" means exactly that. The tool's own Australian pricing or feature page did not state that feature at the time of writing, so we have not marked it as a yes. Most "top 10 invoice app" posts assert features nobody checked. If a monthly membership run is the whole reason you are paying for software, confirm recurring billing on a trial before you commit to a year.

How we tested: the session-pack test. Three questions per tool. Can it invoice a 10-session pack up front as a single line, ideally with a deposit option? Can it then bill a recurring monthly membership automatically, without you opening the app? And can it tell you who has sessions left to run?

That test matters because a personal trainer bills in two shapes that pull in opposite directions. A pack is one big invoice, paid before any work happens. A membership is a small invoice, repeated forever. Most trainers run both at the same time, plus the occasional one-off session and, if they contract to a gym, an invoice to the gym as well. An app that does the first shape and not the second leaves you retyping the second one 12 times a year per member.

The worked number. Take 14 clients on an $850 ten-session pack. That is 14 × $850 = $11,900 invoiced up front and 14 × 10 = 140 sessions still to deliver. At one session a week each, the money lands in a single week and the work runs for the next ten. Your bank balance says you had a $11,900 month; your diary says you have $11,900 of unpaid labour ahead of you. That gap is the thing PT billing gets wrong, and no invoicing app will warn you about it.

It also creates a real exposure. At $85 a session, a client who stops after five sessions leaves five undelivered sessions, or $425, sitting in your account that arguably is not yours yet. If three of those 14 clients drop at the halfway mark, that is 3 × 5 × $85 = $1,275 you have banked against work you will never do. Decide your refund and expiry policy before you send the first pack invoice, write it on the invoice, and keep the money visible. Our guide to invoice payment terms in Australia covers where that wording goes.

Who fails the test. All eight pass question one: a pack is just a quantity-10 line item, and InvoiceSonic can additionally take a percentage or fixed deposit on it. Only two pass question two with a published feature: InvoiceSonic on Pro, and Bookipi on every plan including free. And all eight fail question three. Not one of them tracks sessions delivered against sessions sold, because invoicing apps track invoices, not attendance. That is the single most useful thing to know before you spend a weekend comparing feature tables, and it is why the last section of this post sends some readers to a different kind of software entirely.

1. InvoiceSonic — Best overall

InvoiceSonic is an invoicing app that builds a professional tax invoice in about a minute, takes a deposit on it if you want one, and on Pro sends a recurring invoice on a schedule and chases it if nobody pays. For a trainer running packs and memberships side by side, that combination is the whole job.

It passes the first two questions of the session-pack test cleanly. A pack goes out as one line with a quantity, and you can ask for a percentage or fixed deposit up front, which is how you split an $850 pack into $425 now and $425 at session five without inventing a workaround — further stages are raised as separate invoices. Memberships run on recurring invoices with automatic reminders, invoice open tracking tells you the moment a client has looked at it, and an email receipt goes out automatically when you mark it paid, which kills the Sunday-night "did that go through?" text. Online quote acceptance turns a 12-week transformation proposal into an invoice in one click. Clients pay by bank transfer or PayID with no gateway to set up and no InvoiceSonic transaction fee, so an $850 pack arrives as $850. Tax handling is localised across 19 countries, which in practice means the ABN field, the BSB format and the 10% GST label are already correct. There is an iPhone app; there is no native Android app, so Android users run the web app and add it to the home screen. On question three it fails like everything else: an invoice tracker tells you about invoices, not about sessions.

Pros

Cons

Price: at the time of writing, the free plan is A$0 a month and you can create one invoice with no sign-up and no credit card; Pro is A$19 a month billed monthly, or A$168 a year billed annually, which works out at A$14 a month and saves A$60 against monthly. There is a 7-day free Pro trial and a card is required up front. Best for: trainers running session packs and monthly memberships together who want both sent and chased without touching them.

2. Invoice-Generator.com.au — Best free tool

Invoice-Generator.com.au is a free tax invoice generator that produces a finished PDF in your browser with no signup, no watermark, no ads and no invoice limit. It is the right tool when a client has just paid you in cash for a pack, wants something for their records, and you are not about to subscribe to anything.

The Australian tax invoice generator is pre-set with an ABN field, a 10% GST line and a live compliance checklist that flags a missing ABN or GST amount before you send. Nothing you type leaves the browser, which matters when an invoice carries a client's home address and their goal weight is none of anyone's business. There are separate free tools for a quote, a receipt for a client who paid on the spot, and the GST maths. It fails questions two and three of the session-pack test outright, and we would rather say so: it builds the document and nothing else. No sending, no tracking, no automatic reminders, no saved client list, no payment collection.

Pros

Cons

Price: free, always. Best for: one-off sessions, cash-paying clients, and trainers under the GST threshold who send a handful of invoices a month.

3. Square Invoices — Best if clients will only pay by card

Square Invoices gives you unlimited free invoices, estimates and automatic reminders, and the client pays by tapping a card link in the email. For a trainer selling an $850 pack to someone who decided in the car park, that speed is worth real money — a pack that gets paid on the spot is a pack that does not get talked out of.

On the session-pack test it half-passes. Automatic reminders are there on the free plan, a pack invoices fine, but a recurring send is not stated at the time of writing, and estimate auto-convert and milestone payment schedules are Plus only — which is awkward, because milestones are exactly how you would stage a pack. The real cost is the card fee. At 2.2% on online card payments, an $850 pack costs you $18.70. Across 14 clients buying five packs a year, that is $59,500 of billings and $1,309.00 a year in card fees: nearly eight times the A$168 that InvoiceSonic Pro costs billed annually, at the time of writing. Square earns that when the alternative is a client who never gets around to the bank transfer.

Pros

Cons

Price: at the time of writing, free, or Plus at AUD $30 per month; 2.2% on online card payments. Best for: trainers who close packs face to face and want the card tapped before the client leaves.

4. Zoho Invoice — Best free app that actually sends

Zoho Invoice is free — Zoho states no cost and no contracts — and unlike a PDF generator it sends the invoice, saves the client and keeps the history. For a trainer with 14 regulars and no budget, that saved client list is the difference between a filing system and a shoebox.

On the session-pack test it invoices a pack properly and formats an Australian invoice correctly, but an automatic recurring send is not something we could confirm on the Australian page at the time of writing, so check it before you build a membership run on it. The trade-off is the surroundings. Zoho Invoice sits inside a very large product suite, the interface is dense next to a single-purpose invoicing app, and real support is a paid-suite affair. Multi-language invoicing across 19-plus languages is a genuine advantage if you train clients who would rather read an invoice in their first language.

Pros

Cons

Price: free at the time of writing. Best for: trainers who want sending, tracking and a saved client list for A$0 and do not mind a busy interface.

5. Bookipi — Best budget app with recurring memberships

Bookipi is a simple invoice app that syncs between web and mobile, and it is the only tool here other than InvoiceSonic that lists recurring invoices and overdue reminders on every plan, including free. On paper it passes both of the questions any tool can pass.

The catch is volume. The free plan stops at 3 invoices a month, and 14 clients on monthly memberships need 14. So the honest read is that Bookipi passes the session-pack test on the Starter plan, not the free one, and Starter is priced in US dollars, which means the cost of your invoicing moves with the exchange rate rather than with your business. For a part-time trainer with two or three ongoing clients and a day job, recurring billing at nothing is genuinely good value.

Pros

Cons

Price: at the time of writing, free for 3 invoices a month; Starter US$9.99 per month; Professional US$52 per month. Best for: part-time trainers with a couple of ongoing clients who still want the monthly billing automated.

6. Rounded — Best for invoicing plus a tax estimate

Rounded is Australian-built specifically for sole traders and freelancers, and it does invoicing, expenses and tax estimates in one place. For a trainer who has just banked $11,900 of pack money in one week and has no idea how much of it belongs to the ATO, the tax estimate is the feature that pays for the subscription on its own.

It invoices packs and handles Australian tax properly. Recurring invoicing is not stated on the pricing page at the time of writing, so on our test it is unconfirmed rather than a fail — worth a direct question to their support before you rely on it for memberships. There is no free plan, which rules it out if you want to run a month for nothing. But the price is the point: Solo is $99 a year regular AUD at the time of writing, cheaper than InvoiceSonic Pro billed annually, and it tracks your equipment and gym-hire expenses and estimates your tax as well. That is a real reason to pick it over our number one.

Pros

Cons

Price: at the time of writing, Solo $99 per year regular and Pro $70 per month regular in AUD; promotional pricing varies. Best for: solo trainers who want invoicing, expense tracking and a tax estimate from one Australian app.

7. Wave — Best free invoicing with basic books

Wave is free in Australia at the time of writing, and it gives you invoicing plus lightweight accounting rather than invoicing alone. If you want the pack money and the gym-hire expenses in the same free tool, it is the only option here that does both at $0.

The caveat is how Australian it is. Wave's GST handling is generic rather than ATO-shaped, so you are checking the wording of a tax invoice yourself rather than trusting a compliance checklist, and its payments and payroll features are built around the US and Canada. Australian support is thin. A recurring membership send is not stated at the time of writing. Read the GST registration threshold guide before you switch tax on in it, and check the invoice against the ATO tax invoice rules once, properly, before you send 14 of them.

Pros

Cons

Price: free in Australia at the time of writing. Best for: trainers who want free invoicing plus simple bookkeeping and are happy to check the GST wording themselves.

8. Xero — Best if your accountant already uses it

Xero is accounting software, not an invoicing app, and that distinction decides whether it belongs on your phone. It is the correct answer when you have passed the GST threshold, employ a second trainer, and your bookkeeper wants invoices, bank feeds, GST and BAS in one system instead of three.

For a solo trainer sending 14 membership invoices a month it is more software than the problem deserves, and it fails the spirit of the session-pack test: you are buying a general ledger and the invoicing is one module inside it. There is no free plan. Once there is a bookkeeper, a payroll and a quarterly BAS in the picture, the maths flips — the accounting software becomes the cheaper option overall because you stop paying someone to re-key your invoices into it.

Pros

Cons

Price: paid plans available — check current pricing. Best for: training businesses with staff whose books are already run in Xero by a bookkeeper.

What to look for in an invoicing app for personal trainers

PT billing is unusual because the money and the work happen at different times. A pack is paid before delivery, a membership repeats forever, and a gym contract invoice waits on someone else's payment run. These six things decide which app survives that.

Which one should you choose?

Run the numbers on 14 clients — five $850 packs a year each, or a monthly membership, or both. At the time of writing that costs A$0 with the free generator, Zoho Invoice or Wave, A$168 a year with InvoiceSonic Pro billed annually, US$9.99 a month with Bookipi Starter, $99 a year with Rounded Solo, and $1,309.00 a year in card fees with Square if every client taps a card on $59,500 of billings. The cheapest subscription is not the cheapest outcome, and the most expensive line on that list is a payment method, not a plan.

When not to use InvoiceSonic or a free generator. If what you actually need is session balances, class rosters, bookings and door check-ins, you are looking at the wrong category of software. Gym and studio booking-and-membership platforms such as Mindbody, Hapana and Glofox are built around the timetable and the membership, and billing is a module inside them — they are not invoicing apps, which is why we have not ranked them here, and they are priced for a studio rather than a sole trader. InvoiceSonic does no scheduling, timesheets or session tracking at all, and it is not accounting software: no bank feeds, no BAS lodgement, no payroll. If you want your tax and expenses handled alongside the invoicing, Rounded is Australian-built for sole traders and Solo is $99 a year regular AUD at the time of writing, cheaper than InvoiceSonic Pro billed annually. If you employ trainers, run payroll and lodge a quarterly BAS, that is accounting territory: Xero or MYOB. And a free PDF generator, ours included, is the wrong choice the moment the same membership invoice has to go out every month.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best invoicing app for personal trainers in Australia?

InvoiceSonic. It invoices a session pack up front, can take a percentage or fixed deposit on it, and on Pro it bills a recurring monthly membership and chases it with automatic reminders. Bookipi is the only other app here that lists recurring invoices on its free plan, and that plan stops at 3 invoices a month. If you only need one compliant PDF, Invoice-Generator.com.au builds an ATO-compliant tax invoice with no signup.

Can an invoicing app bill a 10-session pack and a monthly membership?

Yes. Every app in this list can invoice a pack up front as a quantity-10 line. The recurring monthly membership is the part that separates them: only InvoiceSonic on Pro and Bookipi on every plan publish recurring invoices as a confirmed feature. Square Invoices, Zoho Invoice, Rounded, Wave and Xero did not state an automatic recurring send on the pages we checked at the time of writing.

Do personal trainers have to charge GST in Australia?

Only once you are registered for GST, which is compulsory at A$75,000 of turnover. Fourteen clients buying five $850 ten-packs a year is $59,500, which sits under the threshold, so plenty of solo trainers are not registered and do not charge 10% GST. The 89th pack in a year takes you to $75,650 and over the line, and any income you earn contracting to a gym counts towards the same figure.

Is there a genuinely free invoicing app for personal trainers?

Yes. Invoice-Generator.com.au is free with no signup, no watermark and no invoice limit, Zoho Invoice is free at the time of writing, and Wave is free in Australia at the time of writing. InvoiceSonic lets you create one invoice with no sign-up and no credit card, then a free account gives you 3 saved invoices, 1 tracked email send and 1 automatic reminder a month.

Can an invoicing app track how many sessions a client has left?

None of the eight apps in this list does. Invoicing apps track invoices and payments, not sessions delivered, so InvoiceSonic will tell you a pack invoice was opened and paid but not that the client has four sessions to run. Session balances, class rosters and check-ins are what gym and studio booking-and-membership platforms such as Mindbody, Hapana and Glofox are built for, and they are a different category of software. Until you need one, put the quantity on the invoice line as 10 x 60-minute sessions and keep the tally yourself.

Build your PT invoice now

Free, no signup, ATO-compliant PDF in under a minute.

Open the Australian tax invoice generator