The best invoicing app for tutors Australia-wide in 2026 is InvoiceSonic, because tutoring is billed in term blocks and a term block needs an invoice that repeats itself and then chases the parents who forget. If you send a handful of invoices a term and want nothing to do with a subscription, the free tutor invoice template on this site builds a finished PDF in the browser with no signup. If you also want your expenses and tax estimated, an Australian app such as Rounded costs less than most invoicing subscriptions. We put all eight through one test: the term-block test.
In a hurry? Best overall: InvoiceSonic invoicing app. Best free: the tutor invoice template on this site.
Quick comparison
| Tool | Free plan | Sends invoices | Auto reminders | Recurring billing | Quote → invoice | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| InvoiceSonic | Yes (capped) | Yes | Yes | Yes (Pro) | Yes (Pro) | Term blocks that bill and chase themselves |
| Invoice-Generator.com.au | Yes | No | No | No | No | A free plain invoice or tax invoice, right now |
| Square Invoices | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not listed | Yes (Plus) | Parents who will only pay by card |
| Zoho Invoice | Yes (free) | Yes | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | A free app that sends and saves parents |
| Bookipi | Yes (3/mo) | Yes | Yes | Yes (free) | Not listed | Recurring billing on a tiny budget |
| Wave | Yes | Yes | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Free invoicing with basic books attached |
| Rounded | No | Yes | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Invoicing plus an Australian tax estimate |
| Xero | No | Yes | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | When your accountant already uses it |
"Not listed" means exactly that. The tool's own Australian pricing or feature page did not state that feature at the time of writing, so we have not ticked it. Most "top 10 invoicing app" posts assert features nobody checked, and recurring billing is the one most often assumed. If term billing is the whole reason you are paying for software, confirm it on a trial before you hand over a card.
How we tested: the term-block test. Three questions per tool. Can it invoice a 10-week term up front to a parent, as one document rather than ten? Can it apply a sibling discount without you doing the arithmetic by hand each time? And can it handle the credit when two sessions are missed, so the family is not chasing you for a refund?
Those three questions matter because tutoring billing is seasonal, not monthly. Take a full book of 18 students on a 10-week term at $70 a session: 18 × 10 × $70 = $12,600 invoiced in a single week of the year, four times over. Across four terms that is 18 × 4 × 10 × $70 = $50,400 a year raised in four short bursts of admin. At five minutes to build and send each invoice by hand, 18 invoices is 90 minutes a term and six hours a year. Priced at your own $70 an hour, you have given away $420 of teaching time typing names into a template. A cleaner sends a few invoices every fortnight. A tutor sends a whole book in one night, in week one, while also trying to teach.
Who fails the test. No tool on this list passes all three parts outright, and any post that tells you otherwise has not looked. Part one, a term billed as a single invoice, is easy: every app here does quantity × rate. Part two, the sibling discount, is only automatic in the sense that you set a discounted unit price on the second child's line — no tool here publishes a household or sibling rule. Part three is where the free PDF generators fail hardest, because a credit has to sit somewhere permanent and a one-off PDF remembers nothing. InvoiceSonic gets closest: on Pro the term invoice repeats, chases itself, and can go out as a quote the parent accepts online before it becomes an invoice.
1. InvoiceSonic — Best overall
InvoiceSonic builds a term invoice in about a minute, and on Pro it repeats that invoice next term and chases it if the parent forgets. For a tutor that is the whole job: 18 term invoices set up once in January, then billing that happens whether or not you remember it is week one.
It handles the term-block test better than anything else here. The term goes out as a single line — 10 sessions, $70 each, $700 — and the sibling discount is a second line at your discounted rate, so two children at 10% off the second child is $700 + $630 = $1,330 instead of $1,400, a $70 discount that is exactly one free session. Missed sessions come back as a negative line on the next term invoice, and because invoice history is stored in the cloud rather than downloaded once, the credit is still there when the parent queries it in November. Two Pro features earn their keep for tutors specifically: online quote acceptance, so a term plan can be sent, accepted by a parent and converted to an invoice in one click; and deposits, so you can take a percentage or a fixed amount up front and bill the rest later, which is how most tutors handle a nervous first-term family. Invoice open tracking tells you the parent has read it, which is a more useful thing to know than you would expect before your first non-payer. Payment is by bank transfer or PayID with no gateway to set up and no InvoiceSonic transaction fee, so a $700 term arrives as $700. There is an iPhone app; there is no native Android app, so Android users run the web app and add it to the home screen.
Pros
- Recurring invoices and automatic reminders on Pro, so 18 term invoices repeat each term without being rebuilt.
- Online quote acceptance and one-click conversion, plus percentage or fixed deposits — the two things a term plan actually needs.
- Bank transfer and PayID with no InvoiceSonic transaction fee, so nothing is shaved off a $12,600 term.
Cons
- Term billing needs Pro. A free account is capped at 3 saved invoices, 1 tracked email send and 1 automatic reminder a month, and a book of 18 students burns through that in the first hour of week one.
- No sibling or household discount rule, no timetable and no session tracking — you still keep the roll yourself, in a spreadsheet or a calendar.
Price: at the time of writing, the free plan is A$0 a month and you can create one invoice with no sign-up and no credit card; Pro is A$19 a month billed monthly, or A$168 a year billed annually, which works out at A$14 a month and saves A$60 against monthly. There is a 7-day free Pro trial and a card is required up front. Annual Pro is price-locked, so the rate never increases while the subscription is active. Best for: private tutors with a book of regular students who want the whole term billed and chased without touching it.
2. Invoice-Generator.com.au — Best free tool
Invoice-Generator.com.au produces a finished invoice PDF in your browser with no signup, no watermark, no ads and no invoice limit. It is the right tool when a parent asks for something in writing for a single session or a short block, and you are not going to subscribe to anything to send it.
The tutor invoice template is set up for session-based billing, with a quantity and unit price line, an ABN field and a 10% GST line you can leave switched off if you are not registered — which most tutors are not. That last point matters more than it sounds: if you are under the threshold you should be sending a plain invoice, not a document headed "Tax invoice" with a GST line on it. Nothing you type leaves the browser, which is worth something when the document carries a child's name and a home address. There are separate free tools for a term quote, a receipt for the parent who wants one for their records, and the GST maths if you do cross the line. On the term-block test it passes part one and fails parts two and three, and we would rather say so plainly: it builds a document and nothing else. No sending, no tracking, no reminders, no saved parent list, no credit that survives the download.
Pros
- Free forever, no signup, no watermark, no invoice limit, and the GST line switches off for unregistered tutors.
- The live compliance checklist catches a missing ABN or GST amount before the parent's accountant does.
Cons
- No sending, tracking or reminders — a book of 18 term invoices means 18 manual emails, four times a year.
- No saved parent list and no stored history, so a credit for missed sessions lives in your notes rather than in the software.
Price: free, always. Best for: tutors with a few students, one-off exam-prep blocks, and anyone under the GST threshold who sends a handful of invoices a term.
3. Square Invoices — Best for parents who want to pay by card
Square Invoices gives you unlimited free invoices, estimates and automatic reminders, and the parent pays by tapping a card link in the email. For a term invoice of $700 landing in a household budget, that convenience is often the difference between paid in week one and paid in week five.
It half-passes the term-block test. Reminders are on the free plan, a term is easy to bill as one line, and estimate auto-convert gets you close to a term plan the parent approves — but auto-convert and milestone payment schedules are Plus only, and a recurring send is not stated. The real cost is the card fee. At 2.2% on online card payments, a $12,600 term costs $277.20 in fees, and a full year of $50,400 costs $1,108.80. That is 15 tutoring sessions a year handed to a payment processor. Compare it with the same parents paying by PayID, where the fee is nothing.
Pros
- Unlimited free invoices with automatic reminders, and no monthly fee to start.
- Parents pay by card from the invoice itself, so a term block often clears the same day it is sent.
Cons
- 2.2% on online card payments is $1,108.80 a year on a $50,400 book — roughly 15 sessions of teaching.
- Estimate auto-convert and milestone schedules sit behind Plus at AUD $30 a month, and recurring billing is not listed.
Price: at the time of writing, free, or Plus at AUD $30 per month; 2.2% on online card payments. Best for: tutors whose parents will only pay by card and who would rather lose 2.2% than chase.
4. Zoho Invoice — Best free app that actually sends
Zoho Invoice is free — Zoho states no cost and no contracts — and unlike a PDF generator it sends the invoice, saves the parent as a contact and keeps the history. For a tutor who wants sending and a client list for A$0, this is the strongest free option on the list.
On the term-block test it passes part one comfortably and it holds the history a credit needs, so part three is workable as a negative line item next term. Automatic reminders and a recurring send are not stated on the Australian page at the time of writing, so check both on a live account before you build a 40-week year around them. The trade-off is the surroundings. Zoho Invoice is the front door to a very large product suite, the interface is dense next to a single-purpose invoicing app, and real support is a paid-suite affair. If you enjoy software, that is fine. If you want to bill 18 families between two lessons, it is a lot of screen.
Pros
- Genuinely free with no contract, and it sends, saves and stores rather than only building a PDF.
- Multi-language invoicing across 19-plus languages, useful if you tutor in a community that prefers another language.
Cons
- The interface is dense and it sits inside a large upsell suite.
- Support is aimed at paid-suite customers, and neither reminders nor recurring billing are listed for the free tier.
Price: free at the time of writing. Best for: tutors who want sending, a saved parent list and stored history for nothing, and do not mind a busy interface.
5. Bookipi — Best for recurring billing on a tiny budget
Bookipi is a simple invoice app that syncs between web and mobile, and it is the only tool here other than InvoiceSonic that lists recurring invoices and overdue reminders on every plan, free included. On paper that makes it the cheapest way to automate term billing.
The catch is volume, and for a tutor it is a hard one. The free plan stops at 3 invoices a month, and week one of a term needs 18. So the honest read is that Bookipi passes the term-block test on Starter, not on free, and Starter is priced in US dollars, so your invoicing cost moves with the exchange rate. Where it genuinely shines is the small book: three or four students, one invoice each per term, all inside the free cap with recurring billing and overdue chasing included. That is a real free lunch, and no other app here serves it.
Pros
- Recurring invoices and overdue reminders even on the free plan, which nothing else here offers at A$0.
- Web and mobile stay in sync, so an invoice started on a phone between lessons finishes on the laptop.
Cons
- 3 free invoices a month cannot bill a term for more than three students.
- Priced in USD, so what you pay in AUD moves with the exchange rate.
Price: at the time of writing, free for 3 invoices a month; Starter US$9.99 per month; Professional US$52 per month. Best for: part-time tutors with a handful of students who still want the term billing automated.
6. Wave — Best free invoicing with basic books attached
Wave is free in Australia at the time of writing, and it gives you invoicing plus lightweight accounting in the same login. For a tutor who wants a running record of income across four terms rather than a folder of PDFs, that combination is worth a look before you pay for anything.
It passes part one of the term-block test and keeps enough history to carry a credit forward. Where it is weaker is Australia. Support here is thin, GST handling is generic rather than ATO-shaped, and the payments and payroll side is built for the United States and Canada. For an unregistered tutor issuing plain invoices with no GST at all, that generic handling barely matters — which is exactly the situation most private tutors are in. The moment you cross A$75,000 and need proper tax invoices and a BAS, it starts to matter a great deal.
Pros
- Free in Australia at the time of writing, with invoicing and basic accounting in one place.
- Keeps a year of income in one ledger, so four terms of tutoring add up without a spreadsheet.
Cons
- GST handling is generic rather than ATO-shaped, and Australian support is thin.
- Payments and payroll are US and Canada centric, so the payment side is of limited use here.
Price: free in Australia at the time of writing. Best for: unregistered tutors who want free invoicing plus a simple record of the year's income.
7. Rounded — Best for invoicing plus an Australian tax estimate
Rounded is built in Australia specifically for sole traders and freelancers, and it does invoicing, expenses and tax estimates together. For a tutor whose income arrives in four lumps and who has never set money aside for tax, the estimate is the feature that pays for the subscription on its own.
It sends invoices, handles Australian tax properly and tracks the expenses a tutor actually has — textbooks, printing, a working-with-children check, travel between houses. Recurring billing is not stated on the pricing page at the time of writing, so on our test that part is unconfirmed rather than failed, and worth a direct question before you rely on it. There is no free plan, which rules it out if you want to run a term for nothing. But look at the price: Solo is $99 a year regular AUD at the time of writing, which is cheaper than InvoiceSonic Pro billed annually and includes expense tracking and a tax estimate that InvoiceSonic does not do at all. That is a genuine reason to pick it over our number one.
Pros
- Australian-built for sole traders, so expenses, GST and the tax estimate are shaped for the ATO rather than translated.
- Solo is $99 a year regular AUD at the time of writing — cheaper than most paid invoicing apps here.
Cons
- No free plan at all, so there is no way to run a term on it for nothing.
- Recurring billing is not listed, and promotional pricing varies, so check what year two costs.
Price: at the time of writing, Solo $99 per year regular and Pro $70 per month regular in AUD; promotional pricing varies. Best for: tutors near or over the GST threshold who want invoicing, expenses and a tax estimate from one Australian app.
8. Xero — Best if your accountant already uses it
Xero is accounting software, not an invoicing app, and that distinction decides whether it belongs on your card. It is the right answer when a bookkeeper already works in Xero and wants invoices, bank feeds, GST and BAS in one system instead of three.
For a solo tutor sending 72 invoices a year it is more software than the problem needs, and it fails the spirit of the term-block test: you are buying a general ledger, and invoicing is one module inside it. There is no free plan. The picture flips once you are registered for GST, have a couple of tutors working under you and a quarterly BAS to lodge — at that point the accounting software becomes the cheaper option overall, because you stop paying someone to re-key your invoices into it.
Pros
- Invoicing, bank reconciliation, GST and BAS in one system your accountant already knows.
Cons
- No free plan, and no recurring-invoice claim we could verify on the Australian pricing page.
- Considerably more software than a solo tutor needs, and priced accordingly.
Price: paid plans available — check current pricing. Best for: tutoring businesses whose books are already run in Xero by a bookkeeper.
What to look for in an invoicing app for tutors
Tutoring billing is low-frequency and high-value: a whole book invoiced in one week, then near silence for nine. That inverts the usual priorities. Bulk speed beats features, and the credit trail matters more than the design. These six things decide it.
- Bulk term billing, not a saved template. A template still needs you to open the app 18 times in week one. A recurring invoice set up once repeats next term whether you remember or not, and that is the difference between 90 minutes of admin and none.
- A discount line you can set per student. No app here has a sibling rule, so the practical answer is a second line at a discounted unit price. Two children at 10% off the second is $700 + $630 = $1,330, and writing it as two lines rather than one lump means the parent can see the discount they were promised.
- Somewhere permanent for credits. Missed sessions are the single most common tutoring dispute. Carry them as a negative line on the next term invoice — 2 unused sessions, minus $140, on a $700 term makes it $560 — and make sure your app still holds that invoice a year later. A downloaded PDF does not.
- Plain invoice or tax invoice, and knowing which one you send. Below A$75,000 of turnover you are almost certainly not registered for GST, so you issue a plain invoice: your name, your ABN, the date, the sessions, the total, and no GST line. Once registered, the ATO requires the words "Tax invoice", the GST amount and, for sales of $1,000 or more, the buyer's identity or ABN. A single-child term at $700 sits under that; two siblings at $1,330 does not. The full list of tax invoice requirements in Australia is worth ten minutes.
- Due dates that land before week one. Term billing only works if the money arrives before the teaching does. Put the due date seven days before the first session, state it on the invoice, and read up on invoice payment terms in Australia before you write your own.
- Your ABN on every document. Parents will not withhold tax, but a school, a tutoring agency or a plan manager can be required to withhold 47% of a payment if you invoice without an ABN. If you are not sure whether you need one, start with do I need an ABN to invoice.
Which one should you choose?
Price it against a real book: 18 students, four 10-week terms, $70 a session, $50,400 a year and 72 invoices. At the time of writing that costs A$0 with the free generator, Zoho Invoice or Wave; A$168 a year with InvoiceSonic Pro billed annually; $99 a year with Rounded Solo; US$9.99 a month with Bookipi Starter once you outgrow its free 3 a month; and $1,108.80 a year in card fees with Square if every parent taps a card. The cheapest subscription is not the cheapest outcome — Square's free plan is the most expensive option on that list.
- If you tutor three or four students and invoice a term at a time → the free Australian invoice generator, and email the PDF.
- If you have a book of 8 to 30 students on term blocks → InvoiceSonic on Pro, so week one bills and chases itself.
- If you want sending and a saved parent list for nothing → Zoho Invoice, and accept the dense interface.
- If you are near the A$75,000 line and dread tax time → Rounded, for the expenses and the estimate.
- If parents will only pay by card → Square Invoices, with the 2.2% written into your session rate.
When not to use InvoiceSonic or a free generator. If your real problem is the timetable rather than the billing — who is where on Thursday, which sessions were actually taught, which student is owed a make-up lesson — no invoicing app on this list solves it, and InvoiceSonic does no session tracking, timesheets or staff management at all. If you want your tax and expenses handled alongside the invoicing, Rounded is Australian-built for sole traders and Solo is $99 a year regular AUD at the time of writing, cheaper than InvoiceSonic Pro billed annually. If you are running a tutoring centre with several tutors, a quarterly BAS and a bookkeeper, that is accounting software territory: Xero or MYOB, not an invoicing app. And a free PDF generator, ours included, is the wrong choice the moment the same invoice has to go out again next term — it builds one document, it does not remember a credit, and it will never chase a parent for you. Check the GST registration threshold before you switch GST on in any of them.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best invoicing app for tutors in Australia?
InvoiceSonic. A 10-week term is one invoice with a quantity of 10, and on Pro the same invoice repeats each term and chases itself, so 18 term invoices go out in an afternoon instead of over a week. Bookipi is the other app here that lists recurring invoices and overdue reminders on its free plan, but that plan stops at 3 invoices a month. If you only need one free document, Invoice-Generator.com.au builds it in the browser with no signup.
How do you invoice a parent for a whole term up front?
Bill it as a single line: description Term 3 maths tutoring, 10 sessions, quantity 10, unit price A$70, total A$700. Put the due date before the first session and say so in your terms. Any app on this list can build that invoice. The difference is whether it sends it, chases it, and repeats it next term without you rebuilding it from scratch.
Do private tutors have to charge GST in Australia?
Only once you are registered for GST, which is compulsory at A$75,000 of turnover. At A$70 a session and 40 teaching weeks, one student is A$2,800 a year, so 26 students is A$72,800 and still under the threshold while 27 students is A$75,600 and over it. Most private tutors sit under the line, charge no GST and issue a plain invoice rather than a tax invoice. Check your own position with the ATO or your accountant.
Is there a genuinely free invoicing app for tutors?
Yes. Invoice-Generator.com.au is free with no signup, no watermark and no invoice limit, and both Zoho Invoice and Wave are free in Australia at the time of writing. InvoiceSonic lets you create one invoice with no sign-up and no credit card, then a free account gives you 3 saved invoices, 1 tracked email send and 1 automatic reminder a month.
How do you handle a missed tutoring session on an invoice?
Carry it as a credit line on the next term invoice instead of refunding it. Two missed sessions at A$70 is A$140, so a A$700 term invoice becomes A$560 with a line reading credit, 2 unused sessions from last term, minus A$140. That keeps one document per term and leaves a clear trail, and it works in every app on this list because it is only a negative line item.
Build your tutor invoice now
Free, no signup, session-based invoice PDF in under a minute.
Open the tutor invoice template